If you're committed to serving the natural gas community beyond the office or field, the Louisiana Gas Association's committees may be the opportunity you're looking for. Our Committees work with the Board of Directors to oversee the various programs and operations of the LGA. As a member of the LGA, you are encouraged to join any of the committees below. With your participation and dedication, we can build a stronger association and industry!

To join a committee, please complete this form and return it to the LGA office at You can also join a committee by logging into your LGA account and selecting "Committees & Groups" from your bookmarks. Have questions? Contact the LGA office at (225) 218-6885.


Advisory Committee

The advisory committee studies association needs and long-range plans and helps maintain continuity within the association. The chairperson reports the committee's ideas and recommendations to the board of directors.  The immediate past-President of the LGA serves as chairperson and the committee consists of previous LGA Presidents still involved in the gas industry.
Chairperson:  David Raymond, Atmos Energy

Associate Committee

The associate committee provides the membership with the latest information throughout the year on new and improved products and services for the natural gas industry. They also provide exhibits for the association's annual meeting and they sponsor several informational and social activities during the annual meeting.
Chairperson:  Randall Rogers, Kerotest

Budget & Finance Committee

Committee is co-chaired by the President and Treasurer of the Organization.  Primary responsibilities include the preparation of LGA annual budget and managing Association finances.
Chairperson:  Ken Drone, Louisiana Municipal Association

Bylaws Committee

Responsible for assuring the operation of the Association within established guidelines.  If needed, Committee members also make amendments to the Bylaws [in accordance with Article XVI] and ensure the availability of Bylaws to membership.
Chairperson: Blaine Spell, CenterPoint Energy

Code & Distribution Committee

Monitors building, plumbing codes and construction standards.
Chairperson: Darrell Dugas, City of Denham Springs

Communication Committee

Provides oversight for LGA communications to its members, including newsletters, website content and conference programs.
Chairperson: Sue Guidry, Targa Resources

Convention Committee

Plan and coordinate all activities related to the Association’s annual meeting.  Committee is chaired by the President.
Chairperson: Blaine Spell, CenterPoint Energy

Damage Prevention Committee

Responsible for planning, developing, and coordinating LGA’s annual Damage Prevention and Line Locating workshop.  The committee represents the LGA on the La. Regional Common Ground Alliance (CGA) Board and the La. Dig Law Committee, and works closely with Louisiana One Call on Damage Prevention and Public Awareness campaigns. 
Chairperson: David Raymond, Atmos Energy

Education & Training Committee

Committee members are responsible for directing all education and training activities within the Association.  Committee plans, schedules and coordinates educational seminars, roundtable meetings and training classes. 
Chairperson: Rusty Burroughs, NuLine Utility Services

Public Awareness Committee

Monitor and research gas industry for natural gas/public awareness functions that would benefit our association and its members.  Such as tradeshows, training seminars, gas products, appliances, and technology advancements.  Report findings back to the LGA Board & Members.  The purpose of this committee is to increase opportunities for LGA's participation at functions held within the Gas Industry while assisting its members with additional gas knowledge and public awareness programs.
Chairperson:  Mike Sasser, Black Belt Energy

Investment Committee

Committee members determine the best solution and action for ensuring the security and stability of current association funds/bank account balances.
Chairperson: Ken Drone, Louisiana Municipal Association

Legislative & Regulatory Committee

Committee maintains a watchful eye on any proposed legislation that may affect the natural gas industry in Louisiana.  Responsibilities include: procure, review and provide comments on proposed laws to the Board of Directors to allow the Association to take a position and express an opinion on legislation affecting the natural gas industry in Louisiana.
Chairperson: Trey Hill, Atmos Energy

Marketing Committee

The primary function of this committee is to promote greater use of natural gas in Louisiana which in turn fosters benefits and savings for the industry and consequently all members of the Association.  LGA’s Marketing Committee also coordinates joint advertising and sponsorship activities through the Association.
Chairperson: Jim Tilley, CenterPoint Energy

Membership & Nominating Committee

Responsible for promoting membership in the Association by recruiting new members, retaining existing members, and encouraging members to become more active within the organization.
Chairperson: Mark LeBlanc, EGW Utilities

Pipeline Safety Seminar Committee

The committee is chaired by the President and is responsible for planning and organizing the annual Pipeline Safety Seminar.  Coordinate with Louisiana Department of Natural Resources (LDNR) personnel to obtain speakers, plan the agenda, and provide attendees with pertinent information regarding current and proposed rulemaking and regulatory requirement updates.
Chairperson: Thomas Smith, GUD #1 of East Baton Rouge Parish

Scholarship Committee

The Scholarship Committee is responsible for administering the scholarship program for the Association.  This includes: receiving, reviewing and awarding scholarships to qualified applicants.
Chairperson:  Terry Thibodeaux, Atmos Energy

Transmission Committee

Provides feedback to the LGA regarding issues or proposed rulemaking which could affect Transmission Operators, both liquid and gas.
Chairperson: Danny Nichols, Energy Transfer



Questions? Contact the LGA office.
Ph: (225) 218-6885
Fax: (225) 767-7648